Thursday, September 11, 2008

Cheers to Vegan Beers!

Water, grain, malt, hops and yeast may not be the only ingredients used in the production of your favorite brew. Did you know that the process might also include animal-derived products such as glycerin, casein, isinglass or even bugs? Many breweries use animal products as fining (clarifying) agents, foaming agents, coloring and flavoring, which means that their beers are not suitable for vegans, or most vegetarians.

If you are sipping a pint from Germany, the U.S. or Belgium, you might be safe since most of their beers are vegan, but if you are in a pub in the UK, might be getting pissed with a pint filtered with fish guts. I don't know about you, but I like my beer fish gut-free and I don't want any of that other animal-derived nastiness used in the brewing process either!

Find out more about vegan beer and where to find it by reading, Vegan Beer: Who Makes it and Where to Find it.

No comments:

Post a Comment